Friso Gold ‘Our Today Moments’


image

I love music and I want my kids to be able to feel the joy and creativity that can come from having the ability to play their own music instruments!

DO a deer a female dear, RE a drop of golden sun, MI a name I call myself, FA a long long way to run….

How I love the musical film which starred Julie Andrews as the loving governess to the children of a naval officer widower. The movie my mom introduced to me started me on a life-long path of learning to love music as a way to express myself when words sometimes failed. It taught me the wonderful connection between music and life through its engaging rhythms and melodies.

While I didn’t have the privilege of exploring the arts any further in those early years, somehow the connection with music lives on in my unusual ability to just listen to any songs or melodies just once and I’d be able to play the entire tune automatically over any keyboards without any music notation— a skill that amuses the happiest little people when they were much younger and even spurs on their curiosity for music.
I still remember how Cheeky Koko made up some tunes himself using a chopstick to hit on used empty glasses filled with different amount of water which demonstrated his keen interest in sounds and music before he turned six. Pumpkin Mei-Mei can really croon with her sweet voice whereas Baby B now tries to demonstrate his music appreciation with his super cute dance movements whenever a pop song plays over the radio.

image

Who wouldn’t want to have a Beethoven or Mozart child? 🙂

While musical ability is an inborn talent that can be harnessed through structured learning in music classes, I find that most of the music lessons available locally adopt the stiffness of institutional learning which do not encourage the child to explore the depth and beauty of the musical world.

Growing up, I have seen a number of friends went through severe fear and anxiety attack prior to the fiercely competitive and dead-serious yearly piano practical exams, simply because the thought of facing a stern, foreign examiner and performing the chosen repertoire piece perfectly was just unnerving.

When the two oldest kids were still toddling about as little munchkins, I wanted to get them on an early start to discover music and dance movement through a fun way. I’d wow them by playing harmonica to their favourite nursery tunes to show them that the ability to play even a simple instrument could bring on much delight to our lives. They have seen me dance (much to their horror) to pop songs because I just thought it was a good and fitting exercise to lose some pounds while making them laugh.

image

I may just have a music genius right in my home!

My only regret as a working mother is that I do not always have the luxury of time and resources on my side to spend quality time with them. Man, I am not sure how others do it but I seem to have a hundred and one things on my to-do list that just makes me tune-out at times, such as this time. If you’d ask me, deep down, I would really love to be able to open up their world to discover music in a fun way, expand their creativity and get them to learn to use music playing skills to alleviate the stresses that they may endure as they grow up. Better yet, if someone can make this happen for real! 🙂

It’s February already – I know that Santa has probably gone for his vacation until the end of the year but up on my wish list of spending more time with my three happiest little people is to have the opportunity to learn some music instruments as a family – perhaps to discover playing the piano through a passionate and fun teacher who can really inspire us on this journey. Or to enroll Baby B for Kindermusic lessons so that he and I could spend that one hour quality time together to discover music and movement in a fun way.
Santa doesn’t have to end his vacation early just because I have a yet to be fulfilled wish list. With Friso Gold “Our Today Moments” Contest, I stand a chance to realise this dream! Basically, from now until 28th February 2014, Friso is playing Santa/the Genie-in-a-bottle to give Malaysian moms a chance to achieve their very own beautiful dream of spending quality time with their children, big or small, TODAY. Simply, we moms just need to list down what we want to do with our little ones TODAY and Friso Gold will then select the winner and achieve that for her through its “Our Today Moments” Contest!

Hurry, there are just 3 easy steps to participate:

1)      Purchase any participating Friso Gold product, i.e. Frisomum Gold, Friso Gold 3 or Friso Gold 4 (any size)

2)      Tell Friso Gold that BIG idea or that one special experience (big or small) that you have always wanted to do together with your child but have not been able to and why.

3)      Complete your personal particulars, attach proof of purchase (original Friso Gold scoop from any participating product) to contest form and then mail to PO Box:

Friso Gold “Our Today Moments” Contest

P.O. Box 3202

47507 Subang Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan

For those winning entries, prizes will be awarded for the following:

  1. Early Bird prize x 100: Entry tickets (2 adults & 2 kids) to Legoland Malaysia worth RM540 each
  2. Grand Prize x 100: A special experience for the parent and child worth up to RM10,000 each.

If getting on the Polar Express Train or flying yourself to some far-far-away deserts to find the Genie-in-a-bottle or Santa in his summer shorts to grant you your dream is just too far-fetched, moms and dads, just join Friso Gold “Our Today Moments” Contest. wpid-medium_4551000445.jpg

I can already see us playing some kind of jazz piano quartet or classic symphonies as a family perhaps after a few music lessons for them and myself if I could win this contest as one of the grand prize winners. (Never too late to dream a little, eh?) May be the kids will one day grow up to be able to sing and play the piano ala the Jonas Brothers!

What do you want to do with your kids TODAY? For more information, get on Friso Gold Malaysia Facebook or log onto Friso Gold Website link to know more about “Our Today Moments” Contest NOW!

To your Friso Gold “Our Today Moments” dream,

Seven2SevenMom

xoxoxo

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Photo Credit for Photopin:

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/themm/9381554873/”>TheMM</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/shenamt/9875286154/”>shenamt</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/gilmoth/3655168196/”>Gilmoth</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/teobonjour/4551000445/”>teobonjourwww.matteomignani.it</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a> <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a>

Leave a Reply

