Happy Birthday


medium_211879348

I met a friend for lunch few days ago after not seeing each other for a few months. Both lunch and the company were good and very soon we found ourselves dwelling on piteous sharing about what each other’s husband NO LONGER does in the romance department for special occasions when suddenly as if lightning has just hit her on her head she went “(After a dramatic gasp) ohhhh…. NO WAY! Of course, it’s your BIRTHDAY tomorrow, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!” she exclaimed, so loud that half of the happy diners at Dave’s Deli stopped their lunch and stared at me as if I have just contracted STD. I cast a shy smile, embarrassed that half of the populations digging into their chicken chops are now fully aware of me climbing up the age factor, yet again.

That night while driving the kids to visit my grandmother, Pumpkin Mei-Mei asked me if I felt tremendously happy about the special day that was just around the corner. “Oh you know, sweetie pie, the grownups do not necessarily feel happy about their birthdays, though they should.” I said introspectively. But why? In my head I already expected she asked this eagerly. “But why, mama?” …and there she went.

“Well, grownup’s time machine goes really fast, and to them one year older always means one less year to spend on earth as we get older, and most of us still have lovely things and dreams we want to get on to but which may require a bit more time, energy and money, perhaps” I said casually, without revealing further about the insecurities the grownups feel at every birthday, like the expanding crow’s feet that some birthday greeters actually notice but try to make you feel better by telling you that you have grown one year WISER. Puuhleeez, I can survive without wisdom! Can I get my youth back instead? And oh, what about the hideous fat inventory you build up around your bottom half that clings on to you as if you are a mega life-giving machine.

Pumpkin Mei-Mei gazed into the stars in deep thought for a short while before dishing out her Miss-Know-It-All philosophy, “think of ALL the presents you will get! All the cakes you get to eat, and all the people wishing you happy birthday on your facebook. I wish I can be a grownup! …Oh, how I wish I can get a facebook account too!” I listened attentively to her sales pitch, then woke up in time to say a firm NO to her by-the-way facebook request before I sank even lower thinking of all the sensational sugary desserts that so gratify my appetite that I can no longer enjoy as much as I get older, imagining that I would be diagnosed as a diabetic patient on my next birthday. Any guesses for why I am heaping up on oats for breakfast, decaf for tea time, virgin coconut oil as supplement and drinking juices to prolong life for that little bit more?

On hearing this, Cheeky Koko quipped profoundly, “You know my class teacher Mrs. Wong has this wise thing to share with us the other day.” He continued, “She said that all mothers gain a thousand more blessings each year as they celebrate their birthdays because when a mother gives birth to a child, she threaded death by giving birth to a new life, like a miracle! And when I heard that I thank God for YOU, mama”

Whoa, did that just came out of my 11 years old boy! I looked up into my rear-view mirror and from it caught the faces of the three miracles I helped deliver into this world and for what they have just taught me about something so simple yet profound at the same time, what’s there not to love about my birthday!

Bliss is when you are being loved back by your kids which makes each birthday worth a thousand time better than the best gift. Have a wonderful birthday, peeps! No matter what month or day it is, what age you are and what dream you might not have achieved. It does not matter now, for on this special day your dream shall come true!

3 John 1:2 KJV
Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth.

XoXoXo

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/ccho/211879348/”>ccho</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a> <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a>

Leave a Reply

