Learning To Let Go


Call it sentimental for deciding Pumpkin Mei-Mei’s wedding giveaway song at least twenty years ahead or even professional for forward planning but I have always loved Bob Carlisle’s Butterfly Kisses and here’s one particular moment I love the song even more.

Butterfly dances

Deciding to spend some quality time with the kids, I brought the two happiest little people on earth to Roller Sports World at BSC last Saturday. We had some wholesome breakfast before headed straight for our first ever inline skating session.
Upon paying for the tickets we went to pick up our roller blades. Two pairs in total for the kids. Once the straps were fastened my two minis charged out like they were born for rollerblading.

Boom, shheeiik, bom, claaad are a set of new words to describe the roaring sound of falling of the two little minis for the next hour or so. While Cheeky Koko was obviously getting the move after that and quickly whizzed by like a pro, delicate Pumpkin Mei-Mei grabbed both of my hands ever so tightly as if it was her life line.

Daddy Joe finally finished his half day work to join us at the sports. Daddy Joe has been somewhat a sports hero in the family. Whereas I could not learn a sports even after few years in training to just to get to the basics, he masters a new sports within minutes! I gratefully handover my little girl to daddy to catch up on my overdue reading.

Learning to let go of our child is always hard

Occasionally when I looked up, while father held daughter’s hands and guided her on skating basics, little girl would still stumble and fall hard many times over. It was those few falls that I felt my heart sank seeing her struggled to master this skill and I would quickly tell myself to learn to let go. There are things in life you’ve gotta fall a few times before you can get on with it. Things like learning to take your first steps. Things like roller blading. Definitely things like life…

Still, I have Butterfly Kisses playing in my head reminding myself to remember those little moments in life you’ve just got to learn to let go now, and may be twenty years down the road.

There’s two things I know for sure:
She was sent here from heaven and she’s
daddy’s little girl.
As I drop to my knees by her bed at night
She talks to Jesus and I close my eyes and
I thank god for all the joy in my life
Oh, but most of all
For butterfly kisses after bedtime prayer;
sticking little white flowers all up in her
hair; “Walk beside the pony, Daddy, it’s my first ride.”
“I know the cake looks funny, Daddy, but I sure tried.”
In all that I’ve done wrong I know I must
have done something right to deserve a hug
every morning and butterfly kisses at night.

2 thoughts on “Learning To Let Go

  1. Hi! Good writing. When my children were smaller I wonder when I can get back my freedom to go travelling with my husband, now that my kids are finishing secondary school, I wish they never grow up that fast. We learn to let go!

    • Hi Jen, from what I observe how my 86 y/o grandmother still worries over my 68 y/o mom whenever mom comes home late from her social meeting, I can safely conclude that parenting life goes on even right into old age man. 🙂 Thanks and do come back for more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

